Respect Victoria welcomes new Board Directors

We are thrilled to welcome four new members to the Board

This week, Minister for the Prevention of Family Violence Ros Spence announced Nesreen Bottriell, Jan Noblett, Professor Steven Roberts and Daphne Yarram have been appointed to Respect Victoria’s Board, leading our work building a Victoria free from violence.

These appointments fill vacancies created by the departure of three outgoing Board directors, Dr Wei Leng Kwok, Rodney Jackson and Liana Papoutsis. We are grateful for the contributions and commitment they have shared during their time on the Board and we wish them all the best for what comes next.

Our new Board members were chosen for their strong expertise in primary prevention, governance, financial and risk management, and in particular, their ability to add strength to the implementation of our 2023-2028 Strategic Plan.

Get to know our new directors:

Nesreen Bottriell

Ms Bottriell is General Manager at the Australian Muslim Women’s Centre for Human Rights and has significant experience in financial and executive management, governance and compliance within the government and not-for-profit sectors.

Jan Noblett

Ms Noblett is the Director of Quality and Outcomes at Anglicare Victoria and brings a strong focus on operational leadership, policy development and portfolio management in the human services sector.

Steven Roberts

Professor Roberts is Associate Dean Grad Research (Education) and Professor of Education and Social Justice at Monash University and also has lived experience of family violence. He is internationally renowned for his research in critical masculinities studies and the sociology of youth and inequalities.

Daphne Yarram

A proud Noongar woman, Ms Yarram has been CEO of Yoowinna Wurnalung Aboriginal Healing Service in East Gippsland for 17 years and is currently chairperson of Aboriginal Housing Victoria as well as a member of several governance groups.